Please note this programme is subject to change

Friday 4 December

08:30         Registration and refreshments - Regent Suite

          Chair: Gregory Rutledge, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

09:00         INVITED: Cell electrospinning
Suwan Jayasinghe, University College London, UK

09:45         The use of electrospun nanofibres in biomedical engineering
Tomasz Kowalczyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

10:10         Thermal and conducting customised properties on electrospun PS nanofibres
Nieves Murillo, TECNALIA, Spain

10:35         Development of electrospun fibre inserts for the expansion of stem cells in High-Efficiency-Single-Use-Bioreactors (HESUB)
Brendan Robb, The Electrospinning Company, UK

11:00         Refreshments and exhibition
Regent Suite

          Chair: Fred Davis, University of Reading, UK

11:30         Interactions between electrospun fibres and the surrounding biological environment; cells and small molecules
Karen Stephansen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

11:55         Electrosprayed β-TCP particles for biomaterial applications
Venkatesan Yogeshwar Chakrapani, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India

12:20         Fibrous wound dressings based on biopolymers and plant extracts
Noreen Thomas, Loughborough University, UK

12:45         Facile synthesis of core/shell ZnO/ZnS nanofibers by electrospinning and gas-phase sulfidation for protein sensor design
Anna Baranowska-Korczyc, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Poland

13:10         Lunch and exhibition
Regent Suite

          Chair: Fred Davis, University of Reading, UK

14:10         INVITED: Electrospinning as a delivery vehicle for bioactives in foodstuffs
Nick Tucker, University of Lincoln, UK

14:55         Production of omega-3 nanodelivery systems by emulsion electrospinning
Pedro Jesus Garcia Moreno, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark 

15:15         Charge-transfer electrospun sensors
Eyal Zussman, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

15:50         Refreshments and exhibition - Regent Suite

          Chair: Geoff Mitchell, Polytechnic Institute of Leiria, Portugal

16:30         Iron-based electrospun nanostructures - magnetic and actuating composites
Vincent Salles, Université Lyon, France


        End of conference

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: Extended
    14 October 2015
  • Early registration deadline:
    29 October 2015
  • Registration deadline:
    26 November 2015